Nebosh Construction Certificate - A Real Advantage For Health And Safety In Construction

in Construction
The NEBOSH Construction Certificate is a qualification designed for those who are involved in construction activities and are required to give advice on health, safety and welfare on construction projects. This includes Site Managers, Supervisors and CDM Co-ordinators with health and safety responsibilities. The NEBOSH Construction Certificate is also applicable for Architects, Surveyors, Mechanical and Electrical Engineers, and Project Managers. The NEBOSH Construction Certificate is specifically referenced as a key area of competence within the ACOP for the CDM Regulations.

The NEBOSH Construction Certificate course has 2 unique units, which are units NCC1 and NCC2, and the third unit is shared with the NEBOSH General Certificate qualification. This third unit is NGC1. Therefore the qualification requires successful completion of the first unit of the NEBOSH General Certificate and the additional two unit of the NEBOSH Construction Certificate.

NCC1 (Managing & Controlling Hazards in Construction Activities) includes the following elements:
An understanding of the key requirements and application of the Construction Design and Management (CDM) Regulations 2007, and other important construction laws and regulations.

An understanding of the key issues to consider when carrying out a site risk assessments, including identification of hazards associated with construction activities, assessment of the risks associated with the hazards and recommendation of control measures.

Hazard identification and control measures will include specific activities related to construction projects including, the movement of people and vehicles, manual handling, mechanical handling, electrical hazards, fire hazards, chemical and biological hazards, physical and psychological hazards, working at heights, excavation work, confined spaces and demolition works.

NCC2 (Construction Health and Safety Practical). In NCC2 candidates are required to successfully complete a safety inspection of a construction workplace identifying hazards, and making recommendations on control measures and then preparing these for presentation in a management report.

NGC1 (Management of Health & Safety) is the third unit necessary for the NEBOSH Construction Certificate. This unit is also Unit 1 of the National General Certificate course, and will only need to be completed by candidates that have not successfully completed the NEBOSH General Certificate in the last five years. Many candidates undertaking the NEBOSH Construction Certificate Course will have previously complete the NEBOSH General Certificate qualification. Therefore, for candidates that already completed this unit there is no need to do the unit again and a National Construction Certificate Conversion course covering NCC1 and NCC2 is appropriate, instead of the full National Construction Certificate course which covers all 3 units.

There is also a 2 hour exam at the end of the course relating to the NEBOSH Construction elements and for those who also need to complete NGC1 there is an additional written exam. Examination(s) need to be successfully passed to qualify for the award.

The NEBOSH Construction Certificate accredited at Level 3 within the National Qualification Framework and successful candidates will also meet the academic qualification requirements for Technician status of IOSH (TechIOSH).
Author Box
Trevor Healey has 1 articles online

For further information regarding NEBOSH construction certificates and a wide range of other courses, please visit our website at

Add New Comment

Nebosh Construction Certificate - A Real Advantage For Health And Safety In Construction

Log in or Create Account to post a comment.
Security Code: Captcha Image Change Image
This article was published on 2010/11/30